By pursuing your navigation on this site, you accept the use of Cookies allowing to realize statistics of visits.Learn more I accept

I hold a degree or diploma from a member state of the European Union or the European Economic Area...

...and I wish to obtain the recognition of my professional qualifications in France

There are more than 250 regulated professions in France. They can be classified into two categories:

  • Liberal professions,
  • Commercial and artisanal professions for which the recognition of professional qualifications is done by the competent chamber of trades and crafts.

I would like to settle in France

In order to practise a regulated profession in France, two steps are necessary:

  1. The recognition of professional qualifications for European Union and European Economic Area nationals,
  2. The authorisation to practise the profession concerned issued by the relevant authority (additional authorisation depending on the profession).

The fact sheets on regulated professions list these procedures and provide you with information on the regulations in force.

The European Professional Card (EPC) scheme applies to some professions, which do not need to go through the standard procedure:

  • General care nurses,
  • Pharmacists
  • Physiotherapists,
  • Mountain guides,
  • Estate agents.

I would like to provide services in France temporarily

The recognition of your professional qualifications is not necessary for a temporary provision of services, but you must be established in your home country. In some cases, you will need to request an authorisation in order to carry out an activity in France.


You must contact the competent authority in the region in which you wish to work and provide supporting documents, some of which require a certified translation.

Good to know

If your profession is regulated in your home country but not in your destination country (France), you may practise it in the same conditions as the nationals from your destination country without going through the procedure necessary to obtain the recognition of your professional qualifications.

List of European Union member states

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Estonie, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czechia.

List of European Economic Area countries

The EEA comprises the 27 member states of the European Union (EU), which are listed above, plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.